Dedicated to better understanding aeolian processes

ICAR XI Group Photo

ICAR 2020 : Namibia


ICAR 2020, Swakopmund, Namibia (12th-17th July 2020)

We have pleasure in announcing the next ICAR conference in Swakopmund, Namibia in July 2020. ICAR is the official conference of the International Society for Aeolian Research (ISAR: The biennial conference draws together delegates from across the globe researching the processes of and phenomena associated with the erosion, transport, deposition and effects of windblown sediment and landforms on Earth and other planetary bodies. Recent past conferences have been held in Bordeaux (2018), Mildura (2016), and Lanzhou (2014).

ICAR 2020 will cover a broad spectrum of research topics in aeolian science and will include the following sessions:

  1. Mechanics and processes of aeolian sediment transport; Convenors: Cheryl McKenna-Neuman; Ian Walker; Andreas Baas

  2. Sand dune dynamics and processes;  Convenors: Patrick Hesp; Clement Narteau; Lu Ping

  3. Dust emission, transport, deposition and effects;  Convenors: Martina Klose; Richard Reynolds; James King

  4. Aeolian palaeoenvironments;  Convenors: Kathryn Fitzimmons; David Thomas; Paul Hesse

  5. Anthropogenic interactions with aeolian systems;  Convenors: John Leys; Nick Webb; Johannah von Holdt

  6. Planetary aeolian systems;  Convenors: Ryan Ewing; Philippe Claudin; Lori Fenton

We encourage participation from a wide scientific base to include current research in modelling, laboratory and fieldwork environments.

Please register your interest on the website to receive direct updates about the conference over the coming months:

Important dates:

  • October 2019: call for abstracts

  • January 2020: deadline for abstract submission, registration opens

  • February 2020: selection of abstracts for presentation

  • April 2020: registration closes

  • 12th July 2020: ICAR 2020 begins!

  • If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us at:

    Best wishes from the organising committee

    Giles Wiggs (Oxford, UK) Joanna Nield (Southampton, UK) Matthew Baddock (Loughborough, UK) Frank Eckardt (Cape Town, SA) Greg Okin (UCLA, USA)



Past ICAR meeting group photos:

ICAR X Bordeaux, 2018

ICAR XI Group Photo

ICAR IX Mildura 2016

ICAR X group photo

ICAR VIII Langzhou 2014ICAR IX Group Photo


ICAR VII Santa Rosa 2010

ICAR VI Group Photo

ICAR VI Guelph 2006 (photo venir)


ICAR V Lubbock 2002

ICAR V Group Photo

ICAR IV Oxford 1998 (photo venir)

ICAR III Zyzxx 1994

ICAR 4 Group Photo

ICAR II Sandbjerg 1990

ICAR II Group picture

ICAR I Aarhus 1985 (photo venir)